IP Law, good idea?

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
WillieNephren

IP Law, good idea?

Postby WillieNephren » Fri May 28, 2010 11:21 am

I'm currently an engineering student (Computer Science Engineering), and someone I met told me they were going to peruse IP law. They told me that there is a very heavy demand, and that it is common for people in IP law to make $300 or $400 an hour. I'm just wondering how legitimate this is.

merichard87

Re: IP Law, good idea?

Postby merichard87 » Fri May 28, 2010 11:32 am

1. What is Computer Science Engineering ?

2. No 300 or 400 an hour is not true for a brand spanking new lawyer. Market rate is $160,000 a year which is roughly $80 an hour and is not easy to walk into so no need to get your hopes up.

3. A lawyer can make much more in his career than an engineer though.

WillieNephren

Postby WillieNephren » Fri May 28, 2010 11:45 am

Computer Science Engineering at my school is majoring in Computer Science in the Engineering school. We get a Bachelors of Science in Engineering. It's a little different then majoring in Computer Science in the Arts & Sciences school, and they get a Bachelors of Science. Generally the CSE degree is considered better. CSE majors take all the same intro and prerequisite classes as all the other engineering majors, where as CS majors don't.

He wasn't saying $300 to $400 for a brand new lawyer, but after a few years, even if you're not the best. $160K is still a lot better than what I'd make starting with a Masters in CS (which is more like 80-90K at my school). Is that $300 or $400/hour realistic after some experience though?

D.Taggart

Postby D.Taggart » Fri May 28, 2010 11:51 am

From what I've heard, new IP lawyers charge $300 - $400 / hour. You will earn a fraction of that. Whoever told you just might have inferred wrongly what he heard.