Versatility of A JD

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Dbate

Versatility of A JD

Postby Dbate » Tue May 18, 2010 5:31 pm

Hi, I am a college student pursuing, what some would say, is a useless major--although I certainly have qualms about that description. My major is political science (and chemistry) and I am really interested in policy or patent law. Right now law is one of a number of different possible paths that I am considering, along with a MPP. I, however, do not have a real desire to practice law in the traditional law firm sense and would instead prefer to work more so in a policy area. I know the MPP seems more applicable, but looking at some of the pay scales of graduates at even the best public policy schools I question whether or not the debt associated with the degree is worth it. In contrast, I am fairly confident that I could get some scholarship money at a number of good law schools so if a JD can achieve the same end goal as a MPP, then I would prefer to get a JD. So my question is: Is a JD a good degree to pursue for a policy career? Thanks!

YCrevolution

Re: Versatility of A JD

Postby YCrevolution » Tue May 18, 2010 5:49 pm

BenJ

Postby BenJ » Tue May 18, 2010 6:22 pm

Generally, I would say no. For entry-level policy work, a JD leaves you overqualified, and you won't be able to get a job because of it. It is feasible to work as a lawyer for maybe five years after law school and then move into a policy field, but that does not sound like what you're interested in. There is very little you can do with a JD straight out of law school save be a lawyer (in whatever capacity).