T6 Law school - hard for lib art grads to regret? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
CordeliusX

Bronze

T6 Law school - hard for lib art grads to regret?

Post by CordeliusX » Mon May 03, 2010 3:40 pm

I'm sure this tale has been told a countless times... I'm about to enroll. I have an otherwise useless degree. :cry: I graduated a few years back so I can't apply fresh to consultancies, etc as far as I know. I doubt I can break into any lucrative, non dead-end jobs without getting an advanced degree, unless you subscribe to the "work your way up over 15 years" philosophy. At the moment, I'm not in an industry that would get me into a top b-school.

If you are like me, I don't see how a T6 school could hurt you, even if you dislike the work and the short-termcareer path of biglaw. (assuming you don't stick with big law...). It seems to be the inevitable pathway. I realize people say "don't go into law if you don't WANT to be a lawyer etc etc etc" but I think the assumption is the candidate could go into other decent industries as an alternative. I'd appreciate input on this.

tintin

Silver

Re: T6 Law school - hard for lib art grads to regret?

Post by tintin » Mon May 03, 2010 3:46 pm

i guess this depends on how much the tuition bill is and how lucrative your post-biglaw career path is.

sixburgher

New

Post by sixburgher » Mon May 03, 2010 3:51 pm

You sound like law school isn't something you want to do, but I think you'd be hard pressed to find someone who thinks that T6 is a mistake.

TTH

Diamond

Post by TTH » Mon May 03, 2010 10:32 pm

I see:
"TLS, I'm existential crisis over whether or not to attend a T6. Help me."

I understand:
"LOLZ I GOTS INTO CCN. FUCK OFF NOOBS!"

Kohinoor

Gold

Post by Kohinoor » Mon May 03, 2010 10:34 pm