Is a legal industry job necessary before applying to school? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
pdrez

New

Is a legal industry job necessary before applying to school?

Post by pdrez » Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:42 pm

Hi, I am preparing to take the LSAT in June to be admitted to a school for Fall 2011. My question regards how law schools look at an applicant's job history, and what they factor in to make a decision on an applicant.

I am 27 years old and my experiences after college (at Univ of Texas) have been varied. I worked as a media planner at a big firm here in New York, and after that for the past two years I have been a commercial Voiceover actor. Now I am focused on the law degree I chose to not pursue straight out of college. I have practically no law firm experience, and to make a long story short, I just want to know:

• Is it necessary to try and get a job at a law firm in order to get into good schools?
  • Do they even look at that as a requirement? What kinds of jobs do law schools like to see on an applicant's resume?
  • Finally, is the fact that my pursuits post-college have been so varied a disadvantage?

Let me know, because I am currently looking into getting a legal assistant-type job to beef up my resume before applying for 2011.

Thank you.

kalvano

Diamond

Re: Is a legal industry job necessary before applying to school?

Post by kalvano » Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:44 pm

No, not at all.

runningwithscissors

New

Post by runningwithscissors » Thu Apr 01, 2010 4:48 pm

1. No.
2. Jobs are a soft factor like many other things. Focus on doing well on the LSAT at this point. If anything, your employment may provide a nice topic for your personal statement. A few schools (ie Northwestern) really want work experience though.
3. No.

Edit: I think TLS is changing around words for April Fools day...haha

traehekat

Gold

Post by traehekat » Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:45 pm

The short answer to your question is a resounding no.