Low GPA and Work experience

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
February1088

Low GPA and Work experience

Postby February1088 » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:24 pm

Well I am currently an undergraduate college student right now and I have a fairly low GPA. 3.1 I heard that some law schools overlook your low GPA if you have work experience. Does this mean work IN school? Because I've worked during my freshman/sophmore/junior years but they were jobs that were out of campus jobs like waiter at a restaurant. I actually did work in the school's dining hall during my Junior year so I wonder if that helps

How do they see that you worked? Do you actually have to work DURING the 4 years that you're in school? Because I'm thinking about taking a year off after I graduate this year and work during that period.

wired

Re: Low GPA and Work experience

Postby wired » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:29 pm

People generally refer to work experience as full-time employment after graduation, the theory being that the WE allows you to mature and distance yourself from your GPA.

If you have full-time WE during undergrad, that can make for a decent addendum about why your GPA isn't as high as it could be.

AsylumPB

Postby AsylumPB » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:32 pm

I don't think they would count part-time serving as WE. If you want to compensate for a lower GPA, get a full time job for a couple of years after UG and then write a good addendum explaining your GPA.

fl0w

Postby fl0w » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:35 pm

work experience = years (notice how "years" is plural) of work after undergrad.

scribelaw

Postby scribelaw » Fri Jan 29, 2010 2:39 pm

fl0w wrote:work experience = years (notice how "years" is plural) of work after undergrad.

+1.

I also don't think WE helps to mitigate a low GPA that much. Schools, especially the elite ones, still want the numbers.

Where WE might help is at Northwestern. If you can score 171+ on your LSAT, they'll probably take you despite the GPA.