undergraduate classes for law school

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
stinestine

undergraduate classes for law school

Postby stinestine » Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:50 pm

I'm an undergraduate student at a small college in the northeast about to start my last semester. I am choosing classes to take this term, and I am wondering what types of classes law schools might want to see. I know that your GPA is primarily what matters, but obviously they are not going to be impressed if you raised your GPA with a lot of music/PE/dance/art classes or other easy classes. Usually the school has some section on what students who want to pursue a legal career should take in their undergraduate, and they usually say things such as History, Philosophy, Sociology, Political Science, Legal Studies, Public Policy, etc, but I am not sure if they mean that these classes would help prepare a student for the type of work demanded in law school or if these are actually classes that law schools want to see. I have already taken a fair number of classes in some of these departments (I am a philosophy major and have an interdisciplinary minor that involves mostly sociology classes). I actually heard from one friend that law schools prefer that students do not take undergraduate classes specifically on law because they would prefer that students come in with no preconceptions about the legal system. Is this true? Also, I am already taking a couple of difficult classes this semester and do not want to load myself down too much with tons of difficult classes that might end up lowering my GPA. Any suggestions?

jcl2

Re: undergraduate classes for law school

Postby jcl2 » Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:57 pm