Experienced applicant and salary expectations - patent law

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
ironlung

Experienced applicant and salary expectations - patent law

Postby ironlung » Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:36 am

To get right down to it...

I'm 34, married with three kids. I have a computer engineering degree and worked for 5+ years as an engineer for a large semiconductor company. I have an MBA from a top 20 b-school, which allowed me to work in corporate finance for a different large semiconductor company. I now basically work in marketing strategy (still in the computer industry but for company number 3).

I love technology, and I admire the career freedom most lawyers have. If I go back to law school the sole intent would be to go into patent law. But it would only make practical sense if I make very good money right out of law school (150K+), with large upside 5 years out. I assume that I would go to the University of Texas as I already live in Austin.

My wife hasn't worked since we've had kids, so it would be a severe lifestyle change for my family (thus my high salary requirements)

So - are my salary requirements realistic?
question 2 - Could I use my grad school gpa which is very good as a substitute for my undergrad (not so good and 12 years ago)?

bees

Re: Experienced applicant and salary expectations - patent law

Postby bees » Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:42 am

You really need to have an LSAT/disclose your GPA to have this discussion honestly. UT is not an easy school to get into (although it helps a little that you're a resident) and the way the economy you won't be able to bank on 150k coming out of law school, despite your background.

As to your second question, no. UG GPA is the ballgame.

Your best bet to do very well on the LSAT and to go to Northwestern, seeing as they love work experience, but given your family situation I'm guessing that's not an option.

nealric

Postby nealric » Tue Jan 26, 2010 9:38 am

To answer your question RE: salary: