Q & A with law school writing professor Forum

Special forum where professionals are encouraged to help law school applicants, students, and graduates.
Jeremy Weintraub

New

Q & A with law school writing professor

Post by Jeremy Weintraub » Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:41 am

http://www.TheLawSchoolPersonalStatement.com

I’m Jeremy Weintraub – new to TLS. I’m a former law school writing professor, having taught at Denver, St. John’s, Cardozo, and New York Law School. I’ve taught the art of storytelling, persuasive writing, and techniques for producing crisp, fundamentally sound writing. I now work as a consultant, and my primary expertise is helping applicants with their personal statements. I also have 15 years of experience practicing law as a litigator.

I’m happy to try to answer any questions you have, especially if you have questions about writing personal statements, other writing questions, or questions about legal practice.

Thanks much,

Jeremy

haus

Gold

Re: Q & A with law school writing professor

Post by haus » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:24 am

Given the apparent importance of legal writing in many law related careers, why does it look from the outside that many schools treat classes that focus on this subject as the red headed step children of the family?

Jeremy Weintraub

New

Post by Jeremy Weintraub » Mon Oct 27, 2014 12:08 pm

haus wrote:Given the apparent importance of legal writing in many law related careers, why does it look from the outside that many schools treat classes that focus on this subject as the red headed step children of the family?
I agree with the points in your question that writing is important for lawyers and that many law schools treat legal writing classes as less important than other courses. Before I give some reasons why, I think it is worth saying that some schools do treat legal writing as just as important as other courses -- which I think is the right approach.