PA MBE vs. Maryland UBE

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

PA MBE vs. Maryland UBE

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Mar 13, 2020 2:28 am

I have a dilemma and I’m hoping to get some good advice. I’m a December 2019 l grad and I’m currently working in Southern New Jersey (law clerk job but no guarantee it’ll convert to a full time position). I’ll be taking the July 2020 bar. My S/O is in DC and I ultimately want to be there, so here’s what I’m debating between:

1. Take the PA bar in July, waive into DC, but will be satisfied with a Philly job to boost up my resume. I need to find Philly job. I’m leaning towards this option.
2. Take the Maryland UBE bar in July, waive into NJ, keep working current job. If I’m understanding this right, the requirements to waive into NJ from another UBE state are pretty lenient compared to other jurisdictions. Here, I would have MD and NJ, which opens up two markets in addition to potentially being able to waive into DC if I land something there. My S/O thinks I should do this.

What do you all think?

QContinuum

Re: PA MBE vs. Maryland UBE

Postby QContinuum » Sun Mar 15, 2020 2:50 am