NY Bar Prep as a Canadian Lawyer Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
acal078

New

NY Bar Prep as a Canadian Lawyer

Post by acal078 » Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:20 pm

Hi everyone. I am a Canadian lawyer looking to write the bar in New York in February 2020. I happen to have some time off now to study ahead of time, and was hoping to get advice as to how to approach it. I know basically nothing about U.S. law. I have also been reading around to see which bar prep materials would be most helpful, but would love advice from people who have recently taken the bar.

I wanted to get Themis, but their next course is not accessible until mid-November, and so I would have to waste a couple of months waiting. I know Bar Max is accessible immediately, but I do not know much about it. Would it be enough to take that and have a few supplemental materials (i.e., Adaptibar, Critical Pass Flashcards)? Also, I know a lot of people mention Emmanuel's S&T, but I see it is from 2016. Is it still worth using? Sorry for my ignorance, but I'm totally new to this. BarBri seems too expensive, so I don't really think I want to go down that road.