MEE - Focus on highly tested areas?

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
cheeseee

Bronze

MEE - Focus on highly tested areas?

Postby cheeseee » Wed Jan 30, 2019 3:26 am

Hello all, I'm studying for the Feb Bar.

For MEE (non-MBE) subjects, is it better to focus on concepts that were tested multiple times in the past? Do examiners like testing the same topics or should I try to understand everything on the outline (Barbi Conviser Mini Review)?

SilvermanBarPrep

Partner

Re: MEE - Focus on highly tested areas?

Postby SilvermanBarPrep » Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:51 pm

Especially when strapped for time, yes this is a good strategy. Ideally, you'll cover all the testable law, but if you can't, then studying the issues that have shown up previously is a good approach. The issues do often repeat over the years.

Sean (Silverman Bar Exam Tutoring)

Calbears123

Bronze

Postby Calbears123 » Wed Jan 30, 2019 11:26 pm

I agree you should focus on highly tested issues but I wouldn’t confuse that with just focusing highly tested subject areas.

The bulk of my mee studying came two weeks before the bar. I read every mee model answer from barbri. After doing so you get a sense of what rules you are most likely to have to bring up. Scored a 156 mee/mpt (did zero mpt work)

It would suck to skip secures transaction and for it to come up when they almost always test attachment/perfection which is only a couple of steps.

JoeSeperac

Postby JoeSeperac » Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:07 pm

FYI, based on my analysis of the MEE topics, not many of the most frequently tested areas were tested in J18 on the MEE. Instead, over 40% of the J18 MEE topics were never tested before while another 40% were tested only one prior time.

01/22 exams – ConLaw: Cat II: Sep of Powers: A. Powers of Congress: 1 Commerce taxing and spending powers: c. Spending power: