Timing for Foreign Eligibility Equation New York Bar Exam

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Achiever95

New

Timing for Foreign Eligibility Equation New York Bar Exam

Postby Achiever95 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 4:05 pm

Hi guys

I registered for the FEB 2019 NY exam and I am busy preparing. I am a foreign trained attorney from a common law jurisdiction, my previous classmates who studied the same degree have been approved to write the exam without an LLM. I think I will receive the same approval.

My issue pertains to timing, as Feb is the best time for me to write this exam. July is crazy at work and I know I won't have the time. I registered for the bar exam without receiving approval from the bar examiners, a risk I know, but I have heard stories of approval being obtained in as little as 2 weeks. I also heard that the bar examiners can expedite applications for those who have already registered for the bar exam. I have received the email that they have started considering my application, but now I am concerned that it might not be approved in time seeing that they said the process can take as long as 6 months.

Should I continue studying, very motivated at the moment or do you think there is a very real risk that my approval won't be given in time. Should I call the NY bar examiners to follow up? Can I ask them to expedite without sounding rude? Normally I would ask them to this? Is there anyone with experience in this area who can provide a little input? Thanks

Lancair

New

Re: Timing for Foreign Eligibility Equation New York Bar Exam

Postby Lancair » Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:05 am

Achiever95 wrote:Hi guys

I registered for the FEB 2019 NY exam and I am busy preparing. I am a foreign trained attorney from a common law jurisdiction, my previous classmates who studied the same degree have been approved to write the exam without an LLM. I think I will receive the same approval.