New York Pro Bono hours for foreign lawyer - help! Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
nada123

New

New York Pro Bono hours for foreign lawyer - help!

Post by nada123 » Sun May 06, 2018 7:58 pm

I'm a foreign lawyer and would like to complete the 50 hours pro bono requirement in New York (i know you can also do it overseas).

Does anyone have experience, know or heard of foreign lawyers who have taken this approach? Is it easy to apply for pro bono positions if you are not from the US but have passed the bar exam?

Any help appreciated. Thanks in advance!

b290

Bronze

Re: New York Pro Bono hours for foreign lawyer - help!

Post by b290 » Mon May 07, 2018 9:54 am

nada123 wrote:I'm a foreign lawyer and would like to complete the 50 hours pro bono requirement in New York (i know you can also do it overseas).

Does anyone have experience, know or heard of foreign lawyers who have taken this approach? Is it easy to apply for pro bono positions if you are not from the US but have passed the bar exam?

Are you based in the US currently? I met an attorney in law school and became his volunteer legal assistant. He’s a solo so he gladly accepted the free help. I also gained a mentor and the skills needed to practice right now. Between just straight up volunteering, and clinics, there are plenty of ways to meet 50 hours. It sounds like a lot, but it really isn’t.

Call the your applicable Department to see what overseas work counts. You may’ve met the requirement already.

My $.02

nada123

New

Post by nada123 » Mon May 07, 2018 6:31 pm