Patent Bar Application Before Finishing Undergrad? Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
h_m321

New

Patent Bar Application Before Finishing Undergrad?

Post by h_m321 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 2:15 am

Quick background on me; I'm in my last year of university for an Engineering degree, I would like to take the Patent Bar however I have concerns about my eligibility due to my degree not being among those explicitly listed in Category A (for those who are familiar) of the Patent Bar requirements bulletin.

Does anyone know of cases in which someone has applied for the patent bar while still finishing their Bachelors degree, and was granted a conditional acceptance (meaning they could take the exam once they had received their degree)? My worry is that If I apply now I will receive a rejection and I will not know whether it was due to the lack of completion of my degree, or because of my degree itself (not qualifying under Category A or B) and will have wasted a lot of money on the application fees for no reason. I know this issue could be resolved by waiting to apply until after graduating, but I would rather not wait that long if at all possible. I asked this same question to the OED and the answer I was given was that I needed to submit my application.

If anyone has any input or suggestions I would appreciate it.

markdighton

New

Re: Patent Bar Application Before Finishing Undergrad?

Post by markdighton » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:16 pm