Advice on which state to take the UBE... (NY or NJ?)

CatsAndLawyers

Advice on which state to take the UBE... (NY or NJ?)

Postby CatsAndLawyers » Sat Mar 11, 2017 6:30 pm

Hi, all.

I am from NY and currently attending law school out of state. I graduate in May. My job requires me to be licensed to practice in both NY and NJ. Luckily, NJ has joined the UBE. Therefore, it does not matter whether I take the UBE in NY or NJ. Now, I just need to decide which state to take it in.

I am looking for insight regarding the testing centers in each of these states and the process of transferring UBE scores. Which state has less hectic testing centers/traveling, etc.? Does anyone have experience with the NJ "lottery" system for the testing centers? If I am a NY resident, and moving back to NY after graduation, would I qualify to take the NY UBE at the Javits Center in NYC?

If I want to take the UBE in NJ, I have to decide rather quickly, as the application/character & fitness is due March 31st.

Thank you for all your help.

Lapis123

Re: Advice on which state to take the UBE... (NY or NJ?)

Postby Lapis123 » Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:51 pm

CatsAndLawyers wrote:Hi, all.

I am from NY and currently attending law school out of state. I graduate in May. My job requires me to be licensed to practice in both NY and NJ. Luckily, NJ has joined the UBE. Therefore, it does not matter whether I take the UBE in NY or NJ. Now, I just need to decide which state to take it in.

I am looking for insight regarding the testing centers in each of these states and the process of transferring UBE scores. Which state has less hectic testing centers/traveling, etc.? Does anyone have experience with the NJ "lottery" system for the testing centers? If I am a NY resident, and moving back to NY after graduation, would I qualify to take the NY UBE at the Javits Center in NYC?

If I want to take the UBE in NJ, I have to decide rather quickly, as the application/character & fitness is due March 31st.