Dealing with Narcolepsy and Studying For the Bar

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
It'sMe

New

Dealing with Narcolepsy and Studying For the Bar

Postby It'sMe » Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:16 pm

Around 5 years ago I was diagnosed with Narcolepsy. I have had issues with fatigue during law school. However, it has become more prominent when studying for the Bar Exam. I am a repeater (Massachusetts Bar). During the prior exams I noticed at times I would have "sleep attacks". Basically I would nod in and out. To wake myself up I would use the restroom and tried to move around in a stall. The sleep attacks are worse when I'm studying. Yesterday I completed the Kaplan Mid-Term MBE, and scored 113 out of 200. This time the sleep attacks were worse. I am currently on a low dose of medicine (have been reluctant to increase dose), and consume coffee and energy drinks everyday. Furthermore I work full time (around 40 hours a week).

Has anyone with narcolepsy (or know someone with narcolepsy) had similar experiences with the bar exam? If so do you have any advice/suggestions?

rcharter1978

Gold

Re: Dealing with Narcolepsy and Studying For the Bar

Postby rcharter1978 » Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:59 am

have you requested accommodations? With more time, you may be able to overcome the sleep attacks by walking around more often.

I don't have the disease, but I think a 113/200 isn't a terrible score on the practice exam per se. It wasn't for Barbri IIRC. The biggest concern I would think you have is that the practice exam is meant to simulate exam day conditions and you were even more fatigued. In which case, you hopefully have accommodations for the exam so you can combat the fatigue by going to the bathroom and moving around.

L_William_W

Bronze

Postby L_William_W » Sun Feb 05, 2017 3:41 pm

This is just my suggestion. It may or may not work