Bar Admission C& F question

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
reasonable_man_03

New

Bar Admission C& F question

Postby reasonable_man_03 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 4:45 am

Hello All,

I have a couple of questions with respect to C&F.

I passed the NY Bar Feb, 2016. I am still collecting employment affidavits from various employers. By way of background, I am a UK law graduate, foreign student and currently living and working abroad.

Back in 2012, I had applied for a legal diploma course in the UK at a law school. I was granted admission but then had decided to drop it off completely. To cancel my admission, I had called the law school requested them they cancel my admission and had eventually waived the deposit fee (350 GBP). Apparently after cancelling the admission (in 2013), I received a letter from debt collection agency asking to pay GBP 3300 for cancelling the admission after so called "cooling off period". Basically I should have cancelled before a certain date (which I wasn't aware of at the time) and thus was asked to pay the first instalment of GBP 3300. Of course I challenged the fee since I had never attended a single class for the course. The debt collection agency said that I must pay them immediately or face a legal action. I kept on challenging the payment and eventually the debt collection agency said now the matter is referred to the litigation dept. The last email received from them was in June, 2014. No legal action was taken either.

In July 2015, another debt collection agency contacted me again for the same debt. And this time, I thought there is no point challenging them and ended up settling the whole debt. This was settled in Dec 2015. Having considered the above, I have two questions:

a) Should I disclose the above in my Bar admission application?