Patent Bar Question: Re-examination

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
letsplayball

New

Patent Bar Question: Re-examination

Postby letsplayball » Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:54 pm

I've been studying for the patent bar for the past 2 months and have a pretty good grasp on most of the concepts, but I have one burning question which I somehow couldn't find an adequate answer for after some online searching... why would any patentee ever want an ex parte re-examination (and supplemental examination under AIA for that matter) of their patent?? Why would you ever want to put your granted patent at the risk of being found invalid if it has already been granted and you can reap it's benefits?? Sure, somebody somewhere down the line can request an inter partes re-examination or even challenge the patent validity in some court, but wouldn't it just be smarter and easier to wait until something like this arises (if it ever does) than to just go ahead and make your patent vulnerable to invalidity yourself?? Kinda confusing... any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

NY_Sea

Bronze

Re: Patent Bar Question: Re-examination

Postby NY_Sea » Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:16 pm