Depression during bar prep

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
jaydee2016

New

Depression during bar prep

Postby jaydee2016 » Sat Jun 25, 2016 3:30 pm

I know that an online forum is not the place to go to for this, but I just want to see if anyone else can relate to what I am going through.

To make a long story short, during the last 3 years of law school I have sacrificed most -- if not all -- of my time (and personal life) to getting high grades in ls, getting a "biglaw" job in my hometown, and landing a clerkship. I did very well in school and achieved all of these goals. However, somewhere throughout that period, I realized that I began to suffer form a mild, chronic form of depression. Naively, I thought I'd feel enthusiastic again once I graduated, but it has only gotten worse. I don't feel like myself at all, and I am doubting my ability and desire to pass the bar, work as a lawyer, and move forward. I feel like I have lost all motivation or energy do get to the point where I can really do any of these things... I went to see a psychiatrist and was diagnosed with dysthemia -- a low grade, chronic depression. I realize depression is pretty common among law students/professionals, and I know the added stress of the bar isn't helping, but I just want to reach out to see if anyone else has gone through something similar to me or can relate somehow and would be willing to offer me their thoughts, experience, and how they overcame this period, since right now I am really struggling (and I say that --thank Lord -- not to imply that I am in any way a danger to myself or anyone else, but only with respect to keeping hope that I will somehow get back to my old, normal self)...

Any thoughts are welcome. And I apologize for making such a dramatic post; I just figure that some of you might relate and maybe can lend me some perspective about how to overcome this rut.

Sprout

Silver

Re: Depression during bar prep