Passed the NY Bar but can't seem to pass the MPRE...HELP!

britishgirlinNYC

Passed the NY Bar but can't seem to pass the MPRE...HELP!

Postby britishgirlinNYC » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:30 am

So I took the NY Bar last July, failed, re-took it in Feb 2015 and PASSED! Over the moon!

However, I have taken the MPRE twice and failed - both times I got 79. The first time (with Barbri) I didn't study at all, the second time (with Peiper) I thought I studied well but didn't improve my score at all.

What gives? Any tips? What should I be doing? I am due to take it for the 3rd time in Aug and I MUST PASS! I need to be certified.

I know, no one fails the MPRE, I feel stupid for writing this post but just really need some advice.

AreJay711

Re: Passed the NY Bar but can't seem to pass the MPRE...HELP!

Postby AreJay711 » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:37 am

I failed the MPRE after declining to study. I took the Maryland bar, which doesn't require the MPRE, but had already registered. I am retaking it in August. Maybe you should focus on the actual rules rather than the prep books. From what I remember, the prep books focused on discrete situations rather than the rules from which they are distilled.

jimsgundam

Postby jimsgundam » Thu Apr 30, 2015 11:03 am

I also failed MPRE twice. What I did to pass the third attempt was to practice even more questions. I did both Kaplan and Barbri practice questions, and was able to finish the exam in 1.5 hrs and got a 105.

I also failed July 2014 NY bar and passed this February. Congrats on passing and good luck on MPRE!

BlueLotus

Postby BlueLotus » Thu Apr 30, 2015 11:08 am

There is a wealth of free materials out there. Watch the Themis, Barbri, and Kaplan videos and fill in the corresponding outlines. Do as many practice problems as possible and actually read the explanations for the questions you got wrong. Good luck.

courtneylove

Postby courtneylove » Thu Apr 30, 2015 7:25 pm