Serious Question: Withdraw from bar Exam

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
JReed0908

New

Serious Question: Withdraw from bar Exam

Postby JReed0908 » Mon Jul 14, 2014 8:55 am

Hi Guys,

I have a serious question. I graduated this May and was planning to take the July bar exam. However, because of personal reasons (my grandmother passed away last week) I was busy and distracted. I am debating whether to withdraw for this July and then take the February bar exam in 2015. I was planning to take the NY and NJ bars. Do you think I should? Is there a stigma to this? How would it look to employers? Will I be asked why?

My other alternative would be to really cram (I have only finished about 25% of the assigned Kaplan assignments) so I don't know if this is honestly and possibly feasible. If I did, i would focus mainly on MBE question.

What would you guys recommend?

Thanks.

alphagamma

Bronze

Re: Serious Question: Withdraw from bar Exam

Postby alphagamma » Mon Jul 14, 2014 11:08 am

I don't see how "failing in July and then passing in February" would be worse than "withdrawing in July and then passing in February." Both would require you to speak with your employer, and both would delay your admittance to the bar. You've already paid to take the bar exam in July. Just cram like mad and see what happens. If you pass, you're all set. If you fail, you'll just take the bar again in February as expected.

Maybe it would make sense to withdraw from either NY or NJ, rather than both? That way it'll be easier for you to focus on the one bar exam left.

tepper

Bronze

Postby tepper » Mon Jul 14, 2014 7:57 pm

I don't wanna sound harsh, but let's face the facts here, life is full of uncertainties and challenges. Shit could happen at any time, and there is no guarantee that nothing unexpected will happen next time. Sorry about your grandma, and perhaps you can draw strength from it instead of putting off the bar until Winter.