Drexel Law vs. FSU Law

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Notsurewhattodo

Drexel Law vs. FSU Law

Postby Notsurewhattodo » Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:59 pm

Thank you for viewing and/or participating in my thread. I'm in a somewhat precarious position and I'm having a bit of trouble making a decision, or even favoring one school over the other. I'm a 27-year-old paralegal in NYC. I've applied to schools all over the country, but have essentially narrowed my options down to Drexel and FSU. After law school, I'm not 100% sure where I'd like to end up, but most likely I'll want to return to NYC.

(For the record, I'd like to stay in NYC for law school and I'm still waiting to hear back from Brooklyn Law. However, even if I do get in, unless they offer me a hefty scholarship, it's probably too expensive to go.)

So here are some things I'm considering and are affecting my decision...

Drexel offered me a $25k scholarship. It would essentially cost me $5k out of pocket per year for school (plus cost of living, which I've heard isn't bad in Philly). Drexel's co-op program seems great, especially being in Philly, where I would think is more opportunity to get work experience than Tally. Philadelphia is a metropolitan area, which, I don't know, take that for what it's worth. Drexel seems to be doing everything in it's power to provide its students with a great legal education, faculty, work experience prior to graduation, and job placement after graduation. However, on the flip side...it's a new school. It's not a nationally known law school. It doesn't have the alumni network.