Year "off" after 1L or 2L?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Veil of Ignorance

Bronze

Year "off" after 1L or 2L?

Postby Veil of Ignorance » Sat Aug 10, 2019 10:12 pm

Hello attorneys / future attorneys,
I've been a future law student for a while now, and I'm finally matriculating in a few weeks at HYS. I would like to take a year "off" during law school to work abroad for a year, as a sort of adjunct lecturer at a foreign university. This isn't a law-related position, so I obviously should have done it before law school. However, I'd really like to have this experience before beginning my long-term career in biglaw. So, my questions are:
1. Would biglaw firms be wary of a year of employment abroad during law school, if it's not law related? I hope to pursue international arbitration and maybe public international law eventually, and I believe the language skills I would gain could help with that. Could this explanation work?
2. Would taking this gap years after 1L or 2L be better? I'd like to do it sooner rather than later, but can imagine that getting out of town after 1L might be awkward.
Thanks for much for the information.

Bingo_Bongo

Bronze

Re: Year "off" after 1L or 2L?

Postby Bingo_Bongo » Sun Aug 11, 2019 2:24 am

First off, I want to preface this with the fact that I have never worked in big law, so weigh my opinion accordingly.