Non-KJD with Limited WE Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
DATlsatBOI

New

Non-KJD with Limited WE

Post by DATlsatBOI » Mon Apr 22, 2019 5:49 pm

Hi all. I graduated in 2017 and have spent most of my time since graduation doing a mix of traveling, studying, applying to schools, and generally dicking around. I worked for 3 years during undergrad and fortunately received full financial aid so I had a bit of savings and wanted to relax after burning out from school.

I started a full time job this past February and was originally planning to quit around June to do a bit more of traveling before starting law school. And I know that the prevailing wisdom is to enjoy the last free summer that we have. However, I essentially have a 2-year employment gap in my resume and am worried that it will be particularly challenging to apply for 1L internships because of it. I know that 1L grades are the most important factor, but it's hard to not consider what will be a seemingly glaring red flag on my resume. At least by working until August I will have a serviceable 6 months of full time post-grad job experience.

Thanks for your help!

Anonymous User

Re: Non-KJD with Limited WE

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Apr 22, 2019 8:19 pm

Your experience is as KJD as it can possibly be, but it won't impose any problem at all if you can provide an explanation for your gap years without raising a reflag of your work ethics.

One of my friends took a gap year dicking around the world for a year. After he came back he landed a front office job at MBB by bullshitting the shit out of his gap year. Takeaway is make your experience sound cool and intellectual and maybe even link to why you come to law school/want to practice law if it comes up in your interviews
Last edited by Anonymous User on Mon Apr 22, 2019 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BeeTeeZ

Bronze