Comparative level of difficulty of other graduate and professional programs versus the JD? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Bodhicaryavatara

Bronze

Comparative level of difficulty of other graduate and professional programs versus the JD?

Post by Bodhicaryavatara » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:46 pm

Recent law graduate here, contemplating next steps. How rigorous are MSW programs, for instance, compared to JD programs? Are you graded on a forced curve like in law school? Should I expect to spend significantly more time on classes compared to in a JD program? Is the stress level and workload much greater? I'm just concerned that I can't "hack it" or that I'm not fit for graduate-level studies since I was a middling law student.

So, for those of you with another advanced degree on top of your JD, how did the programs compare?

nixy

Gold

Re: Comparative level of difficulty of other graduate and professional programs versus the JD?

Post by nixy » Mon Oct 15, 2018 10:24 pm

I thought you had an Ivy League MA iined up? Is that what you mean by other graduate program?

QContinuum

Re: Comparative level of difficulty of other graduate and professional programs versus the JD?

Post by QContinuum » Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:38 pm

One, "other graduate and professional programs" is so broad that it's impossible to draw any meaningful comparisons. It encompasses everything from an MBA to an MD to a PhD in nuclear physics and everything in between.

Two, relative difficulty will depend highly on a particular JD's college major. Obviously, an English BA/JD who's decided to tackle med school will likely find it more challenging than a Chem BS/JD.

Bodhicaryavatara

Bronze

Post by Bodhicaryavatara » Tue Oct 16, 2018 9:09 am