Computer Science Minor Patent Law Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
patentdreams

New

Computer Science Minor Patent Law

Post by patentdreams » Sat Sep 29, 2018 5:52 pm

Hello,
I am a physics major (so I will satisfy Category A in terns of sitting for the patent bar). I am thinking about getting a computer science minor. (My school is not ABET accredited for Computer Science). This minor is NOT in Information Technology. This minor will be costly. (I can either not get a minor and raise my UGPA to get in a better law school or work super hard and get this minor). Would a patent boutique care that I have this extra certification, or do law firms only really care that I am a patent attorney who majored in a technical science? I know an extra minor can't hurt, but I'm trying to see if it is worth it.
Thanks in Advance.

redtalun

New

Re: Computer Science Minor Patent Law

Post by redtalun » Mon Oct 01, 2018 6:35 pm

What's your plans after ugrad? Go straight to law school? Work as a tech spec and get them to pay for night school? Need to know to give a meaningful answer whether GPA or technical credentials are more important.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Mon Oct 01, 2018 10:49 pm

patentdreams wrote:Hello,
I am a physics major (so I will satisfy Category A in terns of sitting for the patent bar). I am thinking about getting a computer science minor. (My school is not ABET accredited for Computer Science). This minor is NOT in Information Technology. This minor will be costly. (I can either not get a minor and raise my UGPA to get in a better law school or work super hard and get this minor). Would a patent boutique care that I have this extra certification, or do law firms only really care that I am a patent attorney who majored in a technical science? I know an extra minor can't hurt, but I'm trying to see if it is worth it.
Thanks in Advance.