EE Patent Law Without Major Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
lawschool99

New

EE Patent Law Without Major

Post by lawschool99 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:01 am

My background is in computer science and have taken a couple of EE courses while completing my CS ugrad degree.

I was curious if it's possible to practice patent law in both EE & CS or if I would likely be limited to CS patent law (where my degree is).

Thank you in advance.

inthetrenches21

New

Re: EE Patent Law Without Major

Post by inthetrenches21 » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:15 am

For patent law you typically need a Masters or PhD degree, doing Patent law in CS with just a bachelors is unlikely, doing it in EE is impossible. Get a Masters in EE if you want to do patent law in the field

MOD: The title of this forum is "Ask a Law Student / Graduate. 0Ls should probably avoid giving completely incorrect advice in this forum.

totesTheGoat

Silver

Post by totesTheGoat » Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:17 am

inthetrenches21 wrote:For patent law you typically need a Masters or PhD degree, doing Patent law in CS with just a bachelors is unlikely, doing it in EE is impossible. Get a Masters in EE if you want to do patent law in the field

This is flat wrong. You don't need an advanced degree for this. You also are usually fine with a CS degree (assuming that it's accepted for the patent bar) doing EE work. There are some jobs that require an EE degree, but they're few and far between.

eepatentatty

New

Post by eepatentatty » Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:23 am

I second totes. As long as you are capable of understanding the EE technology, a firm will be more than happy to have you working on both CS and EE cases.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:15 pm

totesTheGoat wrote: