Questions for Former/Current AnBryce Scholars Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
fatal_femme

New

Questions for Former/Current AnBryce Scholars

Post by fatal_femme » Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:00 pm

Hey there, guys. Early warning: Sorry for the long post. This is my first time on the board, so I want to be thorough.

I'm currently applying to NYU for the Fall 2019, but I had a couple of questions prior to starting my application. For starters, yes, I am retaking the LSAT this November in the hopes of getting a 170+. My question lies mainly on qualification for the scholarship.

My family was decently well off despite neither of my parents being college graduates. My dad got lucky and landed a comfy IT job and, after he lost his job during the recession, found an equally comfortable one after a short job searching session. However, I have a very strained relationship with my parents. (I don't want to go too into it, but it was very abusive and difficult to get out of).

I still have contact with them despite that, albeit very limited, since they have ownership over my only vehicle. However, I currently pay for all my things (rent, food, phone, car insurance) in order to remove as much financial dependence as possible. I work full time on top of going to school full time to support this. Unfortunately, I will likely have to put their tax information on my application since I am not yet considered an independent, and I know I cannot pay for law school alone without taking massive debt to pay for both my education and living expenses.

I'm worried that AnBryce will see that my dad makes a bit of money and won't extend the scholarship out to me. How do I go about explaining my situation without making it seem like I'm lying or being cliché?

Thanks to all who respond!

fatal_femme

New

Re: Questions for Former/Current AnBryce Scholars

Post by fatal_femme » Fri Sep 07, 2018 9:54 am