Need Advice for Patent Law Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
lawschool99

New

Need Advice for Patent Law

Post by lawschool99 » Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:22 am

Hello, I graduated last year from a top engineering school in the country with a double major in computer science (BA) and business. After graduation, I'm working in data science/analytics role in a well known tech company in Silicon Valley. I'm extremely interested in pursuing patent law and probably will be applying to law schools this cycle (this would give me about 1.5 years of industry experience before I attend law school next fall). I wanted to get some advice on how I could better prepare to become a patent attorney and if I'm currently taking the right steps. Also, had a few questions.

1) Could having a BA in CS instead of BS hurt?

2) I'm aware that EE is usually more "preferable" than CS at the moment. I did take a few EE courses in college but not too many. Would this be an issue? In that case, should I study and take online EE courses to increase my knowledge in the EE field as well? I considered doing a masters but based on feedback from TLS it does not seem to be worth the time + money and industry experience may be more preferred.

3) Would it be more preferable to be working in software engineering rather than data analytics? I purposely chose data analytics because it was more of a hybrid role like my background and felt I would enjoy such a role more than software engineering.

4) Is 1.5 years in industry considered a bit too "short" for patent law?

Thanks so much!

jhett

Bronze

Re: Need Advice for Patent Law

Post by jhett » Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:51 pm

lawschool99 wrote:1) Could having a BA in CS instead of BS hurt?