Any issues with interning at two law firms at the same time? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
effervescence18

New

Any issues with interning at two law firms at the same time?

Post by effervescence18 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:36 pm

Hi all,

I'm an undergrad who will be interning at Firm X this summer. My exact hours won't be confirmed for awhile, but the internship will likely be around 20 hours a week.

I'd like to intern at a second law firm this summer too, and have an upcoming interview with Firm Y. Not a split summer but something like interning at Firm X for 20 hours a week and Firm Y for 20 hours a week, for approximately four months. I think that would be a fun experience.

My question is whether interning at two law firms at the same time would be a problem? I didn't think there would be an issue but I recently came across some posts (not on TLS and some referred to other situations such as interning for two investment banks at the same time) saying there might be a "conflict of interest" or it might be "unethical." Thoughts please?

cavalier1138

Re: Any issues with interning at two law firms at the same time?

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:39 pm

Ask the firms if there would be a conflict.

UVA2B

Gold

Post by UVA2B » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:40 pm

If you're talking about unpaid internships, no there is nothing "wrong" with it. You'll need to make sure the schedules at the two firms don't conflict, but that's the only major issue. As an UG unpaid intern, you likely won't be involved in anything that would get even close to being conflicted out of the work. And that's not really for you to worry about right now.