how much time on campus? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Carly Jo

New

how much time on campus?

Post by Carly Jo » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:36 pm

Please excuse my ignorance, how much time do 1L's spend on campus, specifically outside of class? How much work can be done from home? I'm an older student with a family. I'm prepared for the workload but we are trying to plan how much help at home with kids and house we will need. Any insights would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

njdevils2626

Silver

Re: how much time on campus?

Post by njdevils2626 » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:42 pm

Carly Jo wrote:Please excuse my ignorance, how much time do 1L's spend on campus, specifically outside of class? How much work can be done from home? I'm an older student with a family. I'm prepared for the workload but we are trying to plan how much help at home with kids and house we will need. Any insights would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
All of the work can be done from home if you want, it's pretty much entirely up to you

Pneumonia

Gold

Post by Pneumonia » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:46 pm

Carly Jo wrote:Please excuse my ignorance, how much time do 1L's spend on campus, specifically outside of class? How much work can be done from home? I'm an older student with a family. I'm prepared for the workload but we are trying to plan how much help at home with kids and house we will need. Any insights would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Other than class, you never really "need" to be on campus. However, law school reading is tough enough on its own. I also have a family and I found it nearly impossible to work from home except before/after everyone else was in bed.

totesTheGoat

Silver

Post by totesTheGoat » Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:09 pm

Carly Jo wrote: how much time do 1L's spend on campus, specifically outside of class? How much work can be done from home?