HELP how do I get health insurance?? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
peege

New

HELP how do I get health insurance??

Post by peege » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:23 am

So I'm a senior in undergrad and am leaning toward taking a year off before law school, but if I did that I would no longer be eligible for my parents insurance (retired military Tricare). I'd have a job in the interim but how do you get health insurance in law school if you're not married and not on your parents' plan??

Desert Fox

Diamond

Re: HELP how do I get health insurance??

Post by Desert Fox » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:35 am

https://www.aetna.com/

https://www.healthcare.gov/

google.com

"no hablo engligese" in the ER waiting room
Last edited by Desert Fox on Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Piggy11

New

Post by Piggy11 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:56 am

The schools I've been looking at seem to offer their own health insurance to law school students, but you should look up your specific target schools.

Cmoney $$

New

Post by Cmoney $$ » Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:10 pm

peege wrote:So I'm a senior in undergrad and am leaning toward taking a year off before law school, but if I did that I would no longer be eligible for my parents insurance (retired military Tricare). I'd have a job in the interim but how do you get health insurance in law school if you're not married and not on your parents' plan??

Are you 26? Tricare stops at 23 if you're enrolled in a full time student status. However, tricare offers relatively cheap program under the tricare young adult program. You will pay comparatively (aetna, healthcare.gov are simply not affordable unless you have zero income) low premiums. Check it out here https://tricare.mil/Plans/HealthPlans/TYA