Possibility of Improving LSAT Score

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
samanthaashley

Possibility of Improving LSAT Score

Postby samanthaashley » Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:08 pm

Hello! I just started studying for the LSAT (about 15 hours worth of work) and scored a 155 on a practice test. I lost a whopping 18 points on the two logical reasoning sections combined. Clearly, that is what I really need to work on, along with speed on the logic games. I have 8 months to improve my score. I am able to study about 20 hours a week for 28 weeks... and I'm counting on 60 hours a week for the last 2 months. (That will complete the 7Sage course I'm going to buy.) I am extremely motivated to succeed, and it is unlikely that I will lose that motivation. How realistic is it to get up to a 170?

White Dwarf

Re: Possibility of Improving LSAT Score

Postby White Dwarf » Sun Oct 15, 2017 9:02 am

samanthaashley wrote:I am extremely motivated to succeed, and it is unlikely that I will lose that motivation.

I spent a year and a half as an LSAT tutor. Everyone is motivated at the start, but very few can keep it up for more than a couple weeks. The people going above and beyond in Week 1 were the same people who were randomly bubbling in half their assignment 5 minutes before our meeting in Week 6. You really don't need to study anywhere near as much as you have planned out. It's only going to contribute to burn-out.

You can easily get to 170+ from where you are with 10 hours/week for 3 months if you stay disciplined.

The_Lorax

Postby The_Lorax » Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:10 pm