Deferring Enrollment to Acquire Work Experience

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Throwaway Account

New

Deferring Enrollment to Acquire Work Experience

Postby Throwaway Account » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:24 pm

Hello,

Some background info: I am a year out of undergrad (class of 2016), I was admitted for enrollment this fall at a middle T-14, and I have BigLaw ambitions. The problem is, I have zero work experience and I'm afraid it will put me at serious disadvantage during OCI's if I go in with a weak resume.

Consequently, I've been considering deferring my admittance at this law school for a year so I can get some legal related work experience under my belt before I enroll. I have two potential legal-related job opportunities: 1. I have an interview this week with a BigLaw firm for a staff position and 2. I have another interview for a position with my state's Attorney General's office (this one sounds like a fairly certain thing because of connections). Would either of these opportunities be impressive or significant enough to warrant deferring enrollment for a year I could pursue them? If not, what sort of things would be? Or is deferring for work experience not necessary at all?

Thanks for the help.

mjb447

Silver

Re: Deferring Enrollment to Acquire Work Experience

Postby mjb447 » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:38 pm

Throwaway Account wrote:Hello,

Some background info: I am a year out of undergrad (class of 2016), I was admitted for enrollment this fall at a middle T-14, and I have BigLaw ambitions. The problem is, I have zero work experience and I'm afraid it will put me at serious disadvantage during OCI's if I go in with a weak resume.