Ropes and Gray to Spin off IP Law, thoughts

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
chicagoburger

Ropes and Gray to Spin off IP Law, thoughts

Postby chicagoburger » Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:17 am

They are spinning off the whole patent practice into a new firm.
Any thoughts on what trend it sets for big law Ip and what will translate to the future IP law students' "big law chance" since they might be no longer part of big law firms.

Anonymous User

Re: Ropes and Gray to Spin off IP Law, thoughts

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:54 am

chicagoburger wrote:They are spinning off the whole patent practice into a new firm.
Any thoughts on what trend it sets for big law Ip and what will translate to the future IP law students' "big law chance" since they might be no longer part of big law firms.

As an IP attorney, I can say this was inevitable for a long time. Patent prosecution just doesn't have the margins that patent litigation does. With the 180k salary increases, sustaining a patent prosecution practice has become even more unfeasible than before.

In the past, many IP practices would start junior associates on patent prosecution (because of their low billing rates), then move them on to litigation when their billing rates could no longer be justified doing patent pros. Basically, you get "billed out" of your own work if you specialize in patent pros. A lot of the time it's just one partner doing everything, or a partner overseeing a few trusted associates who do most of the work.