Practicing Engineer - Intellectual Property Law Possibility?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.

Practicing Engineer - Intellectual Property Law Possibility?

Postby JayTX » Tue Oct 11, 2016 2:49 pm

Hello All,

I'm not sure of the most appropriate place to post this inquiry - so I've picked this section of the forum.

I am a practicing licensed Professional Engineer in the State of Texas. I have been practicing for approximately 11 years and hold bachelors and masters degrees in civil (structural) engineering from Texas A&M. I work in the areas of structural dynamics, blast resistant design, etc (it's a very niche field). I often consult on legal cases during fire and explosion incident investigations. Lawyers hire my engineering firm to figure out what happened and to support and develop expert testimony. We often times assist the legal counsel with interfacing with regulatory agencies (OSHA, CSB, etc).

I am often approached by legal counsel during the cases I work who ask "have you ever thought about getting a law degree?" To which my usual response is "eh, I'm already 35, I make good money, and law school seems expensive." To which they typically reply "eh, you're still young - and there are tons of scholarships."

So, I thought about it for a while, and I went and attended the open house at St. Mary's School of Law here in San Antonio, Texas. I researched the school, and apparently in the field of law, rankings are very very important (on the internet, at least, and apparently on this website too). The internet says that St. Mary's sucks.

Engineering is also competitive, and at the time I received my masters degree in structural engineering, Texas A&M was in the top 5 in the country. But I've worked with engineers from lesser schools and they're not too bad. Anyway.... I enjoyed the open house, the dean seemed like a good guy, and it's pretty close to my house.