1L expenses? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
bourbonandlawbooks

New

1L expenses?

Post by bourbonandlawbooks » Tue May 10, 2016 11:48 am

Hello! I have been lurking on this forum for a while, but this is my first time posting. I am working on preparing a list of expenses for my 1L year beyond the obvious things like tuition, textbooks, rent, food, etc. What are some "surprise" expenses you didn't even consider until you arrived at law school? Thanks!

kellyfrost

Platinum

Re: 1L expenses?

Post by kellyfrost » Tue May 10, 2016 11:52 am

Depending on what your current wardrobe consists of, you will likely need to purchase some business suits at some point, shirts, ties, shoes, ect.

You will need to budget a decent amount of alcohol and nights out into your finances.

Car insurance, renters insurance, also not sure what you are planning on doing health insurance wise, if anything.

You should also plan to spend a small amount of money on clothing, bumper/window stickers with your school's name on it.
Last edited by kellyfrost on Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bourbonandlawbooks

New

Post by bourbonandlawbooks » Tue May 10, 2016 12:00 pm

Thanks, kellyfrost! I am a female, and I definitely plan to add to my business attire before school begins. I have heard that as a female in the legal profession, it is best to stick with pantsuits instead of skirt suits. Would other females out there agree? And as you can tell by my username, factoring alcohol into my budget will definitely be a priority! Thanks again! :D

kellyfrost

Platinum

Post by kellyfrost » Tue May 10, 2016 12:03 pm

No problem. I can't really give advice as I am not female, but pant suits do seem to be most popular although it isn't unheard of to see skirt suits.

Glad to hear your are factoring in alcohol into the equation. It will make life more enjoyable.