If you had the ability to graduate a semester earlier, would you? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
crisgcia

New

If you had the ability to graduate a semester earlier, would you?

Post by crisgcia » Wed Sep 16, 2015 6:33 pm

Hypothetically if you could have the credits to qualify for a J.D. in 2.5 years instead of 3 years, would you choose to do so? Why or why not?

abogadesq

Silver

Re: If you had the ability to graduate a semester earlier, would you?

Post by abogadesq » Sun Sep 20, 2015 12:20 am

Depends what you're aiming for. A lot of firms hire in cycles. Graduating mid-cycle may not be advantageous if you are left post-graduation for the next cycle to come about. However, graduating early can give you a leg up in seeking employment in offices that hire sporadically. I graduated early and believe that it helped me land a government job that had fewer takers since people in my class were still on their last semester.

totesTheGoat

Silver

Post by totesTheGoat » Tue Sep 22, 2015 2:36 pm

Yes, and I am*

*I'm a part-time student, so I went from 4 years to 3.5.

Why? Because I'm working in my field of law, doing a limited version of the work I want to do when I graduate. I'm taking pretty much all of the classes in this area of law this semester, so I just have 2 required courses, a public service requirement, and I have to hit my credits requirement to graduate. If I had the option to take care of all of that next semester and graduate a full year early (roughly equivalent to graduating full-time in 2.5 years), I'd jump on that in an instant.

Mid-cycle graduation is a really awesome thing if you have yourself together. Either you'll be hired early, or you have the opportunity to take the February bar and have a bar passage on your resume when competing with your May-graduating classmates who are still waiting to take the July bar.

Vexed

Bronze