Project Assistant Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
SD1992

New

Project Assistant

Post by SD1992 » Sun Aug 30, 2015 12:19 pm

I'm a recent college graduate and I'm planning on taking a couple years off before going to law school. I'd like to find employment in a law firm and I'm wondering how difficult it is to land a BigLaw Project Assistant (PA) position.

Some background info about me:

I graduated with a B.A. in Philosophy from a small liberal arts school in the Midwest. My work experience is almost exclusively clerical work although I recently had an internship with a county court where I was given a lot of responsibility.

Some things working against me:

I don't have a marketable degree and I didn't graduate from an elite undergrad institution. My cumulative GPA is on the low end of what I think law firms will accept from their PAs. I live in a rural area in the middle of a state that doesn't have much going on -- the nearest BigLaw firm is about four hours away, so I would have to make a dramatic relocation. I don't have any connections who can get my foot in the door for an interview. I don't have any law firm experience.

------------

I have been applying to every PA opening I can find all over the country over the past couple of weeks. I don't know whether I have a strong enough profile to make it worth my time to continue applying to these positions. Any and all feedback is warmly welcomed.

Thanks,

SD
Last edited by SD1992 on Tue Nov 03, 2015 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

snapdragon25

Bronze

Re: Project Assistant

Post by snapdragon25 » Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:05 pm