How do state bar associations check on post-secondary instituations records? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Scotties123

New

How do state bar associations check on post-secondary instituations records?

Post by Scotties123 » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:50 am

Hey guys,

I didn't know what to call this post. I am not good with catchy titles. Anyways, I'm not in law school YET and have yet to hear back from the schools *fingers crossed*

BUT, I know this guy in my program, he applied to US law school and just found out he got in. So, today he and I were talking and it came up that he went to a different university for two years and apparently did horribly - got kicked out due to total shit grades. He said he didn't attend most of his final exams - he was just totally immature, admitted he had no business even being in school since he had no clue why he was there etc. So after taking time off he decided to give university a try (again), got accepted in another university (the current one) and just started from scratch. Got really good grades etc applied and got in.

He did not disclose the fact that he attended the first post secondary schools on his law school application cuz he figured they wouldn't even look at him (although I did remind him that we have to list all the post secondary institutions we have attended.) Anyways, wouldn't the character and fitness test done when finishing law school catch him on this? I mentioned this to him but he said I'm totally wrong. I posted this in this forum since I figured that current law students familiar with the character and fitness would be able to elaborate. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Freebot

New

Re: How do state bar associations check on post-secondary instituations records?

Post by Freebot » Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:35 pm