Should I take a PT job in the mailroom of a big law firm?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
farman

Should I take a PT job in the mailroom of a big law firm?

Postby farman » Thu May 07, 2015 1:18 am

So im obviously interested in becoming a lawyer and going to law school but I have little sense of what working at a biglaw firm is like and no real networking connections to any firm. I graduated about 3 years ago from undergrad with a liberal arts double major and not surprisingly haven't liked my job prospects and want to go to law school in 2016. I graduated with a 3.3 GPA and am currently studying for the LSAT where my preptests range anywhere from 160-170 (162 or so average) with a goal score of 168+ so I can get to a T14 school.

Anyways, I want to quit my FT job to have more time to study this summer for the Sept LSAT but I still need some income, so I saw a posting for a PT job working mostly evenings and weekends as a Mailroom guy at a biglaw firm. Not the most prestigious job I know, but I'm wondering would it be worth my time to take this job? My reasoning is Id hope to make a couple of connections at the firm for later on; or at the very least get a better idea of what biglaw is like; or do you think that overall it wouldn't make much of a difference and I'd be just as well of working a job elsewhere?

Thanks!

rpupkin

Re: Should I take a PT job in the mailroom of a big law firm?

Postby rpupkin » Thu May 07, 2015 1:25 am

It depends a bit on the culture of the firm. If it's like most firms, though, I'd say that it's unlikely that you'll have any meaningful interactions with attorneys. I doubt you'll get much of a sense for what big law is like--at least not from a lawyer's perspective. But depending on your role in the mailroom, you might interact some with secretaries and paralegals.