A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Hikikomorist

Postby Hikikomorist » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:25 pm

Last edited by Hikikomorist on Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sublime

Re: Importance of Ties by Market

Postby sublime » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:34 pm

starry eyed

Postby starry eyed » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:44 pm

i feel this contributes to op's point/question. how do y'all base y'all's knowledge of how important ties are? by callback percentage? look of displeasure in the interviewer's face when you tell them you're not a good ol boy?

BigZuck

Postby BigZuck » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:45 pm

People are going to disagree, cuz anecdotes

I bet this thread has been made already. Or, people can search for the market they desire and ties and read up on it

Of the ones I have had some experience with or know people who do it's probably something like

NYC<LA<Houston<San Francisco<Dallas

There's places like Boston and Chicago that exist but I have no idea where to place them. I don't think this thread will work.

jitsrenzo

Postby jitsrenzo » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:47 pm

According to this article, ties matter even for New York, even if they matter the least relative to other markets.

http://www.lawfirminterviews.com/article?post_id=108989901579&title=2-surprising-things-i-learned-from-reading-the

sublime

Postby sublime » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:48 pm

sublime

Postby sublime » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:51 pm

checkers

Postby checkers » Tue Apr 21, 2015 9:51 pm

I'm not sure where everyone else is getting their information. On average, I would say NY is the most ties-sensitive. Business causal has yet to catch on in any meaningful way.

TheOnePercent

Postby TheOnePercent » Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:25 pm

checkers wrote:On average, I would say NY is the most ties-sensitive. Business causal has yet to catch on in any meaningful way.

White shoe for the win...dsor knot.

/showing myself out