Is 36 too old to work in biglaw?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
dirac

Is 36 too old to work in biglaw?

Postby dirac » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:04 pm

Long story short: I have a PhD degree and work in academia for several years; will turn 33 in June. Accepted by HLS and want to practice IP law or Corporate law. Wonder if biglaw firms care about my age (especially for corporate law which I do not have any business work experience).

Thanks.

sparty99

Re: Is 36 too old to work in biglaw?

Postby sparty99 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:10 pm

dirac wrote:Long story short: I have a PhD degree and work in academia for several years; will turn 33 in June. Accepted by HLS and want to practice IP law or Corporate law. Wonder if biglaw firms care about my age (especially for corporate law which I do not have any business work experience).

Thanks.

I would worry that you are more academic and theory than your age. But if you get good grades and went to Harvard it shouldn[t matter. Just make sure you can relate to the associates who you might be interviewing with and will possibly be older than. You might be the same age as some of the Partners. You will just have to show that you can take direction from people who are your same age or who might be younger than you.

dirac

Postby dirac » Sat Apr 04, 2015 2:23 pm

Thank you for your valuable comments and advice, sparty99. Actually I am not an academic person although I have been an assistant professor for several years (that is why I want to switch to law). Your advice helps a lot.

sparty99 wrote:
dirac wrote:Long story short: I have a PhD degree and work in academia for several years; will turn 33 in June. Accepted by HLS and want to practice IP law or Corporate law. Wonder if biglaw firms care about my age (especially for corporate law which I do not have any business work experience).

Thanks.