What is a good book on Legal Writing Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
SoCal Japorean

New

What is a good book on Legal Writing

Post by SoCal Japorean » Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:11 pm

Most schools require 1 year of Legal Writing Class. I have no experience in Legal Writing whatsoever. I'm good at self study and I was wondering if there was a good book about the subject. I know that substantively, it will not help a lot, but I wanted a good overview so I won't be too shocked in class. Any suggestions?

cookiejar1

Silver

Re: What is a good book on Legal Writing

Post by cookiejar1 » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:21 am

http://www.amazon.com/Volokhs-Academic- ... 1599417502 for law review write on if your school has one

sprezz

Bronze

Post by sprezz » Tue Mar 31, 2015 7:54 pm

volokh [in above post] is great for tips on academic writing; has some quality excerpts to dissect for a self-learner. and much of its content could also be applied to legal writing of the sort you'd produce if practicing law. but it sounds like you're looking for something to serve as a preview for an actual LRW course (am I right?). if so, there are a few good resources that are specifically geared to this more 'practical' writing:

i wouldn't really recommend getting one of the "LRW textbooks" (neumann, shapo, oates, etc) because if you're taking an LRW class, you'll use what they tell you to use, which might conflict in subtle ways with the others.