Am I Screwed?

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Okie25

Am I Screwed?

Postby Okie25 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:30 pm

I graduated two years ago and literally have done nothing since then. No job/no internship. Did some traveling and sitting at home. I'm starting law school this fall at a T30. How screwed am in terms of getting a job. I've got stuff on my resume but it's all prior to graduating

ILoveYou

Re: Am I Screwed?

Postby ILoveYou » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:32 pm

I don't think you're screwed. It didn't keep you from getting into a pretty decent law school, and if you're near the top of your class grade-wise, I think that would matter more when interviewing for legal jobs. If it comes up, can you sell some narrative about how you used the time to travel and "find yourself' before you dedicated yourself to the law or some other BS?

Desert Fox
Progressively loosing literacy

Postby Desert Fox » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:39 pm

You'd seem lazy and loserish.

JohannDeMann

Postby JohannDeMann » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:40 pm

youre gonna get questions about it so you might as well start coming up with an answer.

Desert Fox
Progressively loosing literacy

Postby Desert Fox » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:41 pm

Also, your resistance to work will just continue. There is a 75% chance you'll graudate jobless again.

Okie25

Postby Okie25 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:45 pm

I've actually been trying to get a job as a runner at firms but haven't had any luck. Applied for a couple internships as well but no luck. I can talk about traveling and make up some BS but I'm not sure that would be enough.

JohannDeMann

Postby JohannDeMann » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:49 pm