What you wish you had known before law school...

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Life2good893

What you wish you had known before law school...

Postby Life2good893 » Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:11 am

So as a future law student, I've spent so much time focusing on admissions that I'm only beginning to get nervous about the actual law school experience.

I was wondering what people wish they had known before they started law school- what tips people have, the sage advice, etc, etc. Did reality meet your expectations or is/was law school totally different?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Clearly

Re: What you wish you had known before law school...

Postby Clearly » Sat Jan 24, 2015 8:37 am

The distinction between grades is absurdly close, abstract/unpredictable, and frustrating.
It's in some ways not as bad as people make it out to be, and in others its worse.
Many people can handle 19 pro bono groups and still whoop your ass at law school because they're better organized or just overall better individuals.
Admitting only the brightest most qualified kids, then curving them so half have to be below median results in expected and accentuated dramatic outbursts.
Don't save practice exams till the end, spread them out so you know how to structure your learning throughout the course.
Don't expect to outwork your peers... you won't.
Cop the good outlines early and use them.
Pay attention to class. What you learn from a book is great, but As come from who can tell the professor what he wants to hear, and that is him/herself.
Every class has someone that puts their hand up too much. If it doesn't seem that way, bad news, that person is you.
Stay open to everyone. My best friends are the LAST people I would have expected at the start.
Office hours, if you have questions take them there.
Don't over-extend yourself, pro bono groups will still be there once you settle in.