Juggling law school and parenting

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
akrogers

Juggling law school and parenting

Postby akrogers » Sun Jan 11, 2015 3:09 pm

Can you attend law school and still raise a child? I'm a senior in undergraduate school and married. I have a 4.0 GPA and will take my LSAT in December 2015. My husband and I would like to try for a child before our lives get too hectic and put the "family" off. Will having a child before my start of law school be too much for me to handle? We are trying to plan our lives accordingly. If I were to apply to a T14 school would they have a certain type of child care if needed for their students? Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks a million! ~Ana

Hutz_and_Goodman

Re: Juggling law school and parenting

Postby Hutz_and_Goodman » Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:02 pm

I can't speak from personal experience but there are more than a dozen students in my law school class with at least one child so it's definitely possible.

JJDancer

Postby JJDancer » Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:22 pm

Can your husband/someone else take over the bulk of childcare responsibilities during 1L? If so, it could work.

arklaw13

Postby arklaw13 » Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:29 pm

I can't imagine having kids during law school, let alone a newborn. If you want a kid sometime during law school, my suggestion would be to wait until after 1L to actually have the kid. You could time it right and conceive in the fall of 1L to where you would have the baby during your 1L summer job, which doesn't matter. Research for a prof or something and they won't care. Just don't wait too late or you'll still be pregnant during OCI, which wouldn't be good.

phillywc

Postby phillywc » Sun Jan 11, 2015 4:30 pm