Is a normal lifestyle possible in law? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.

Gold

Is a normal lifestyle possible in law?

Post by 20170322 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:53 pm

I am an undergraduate who has been wrestling with whether or not law is the route I should go down. My largest struggle has been, after reading much of TLS, seeing how much people hate their work.

My question is, say someone gets a full ride to a good school and does well in their class. For instance, Northwestern top 25% or Duke top 40%, graduating with no debt. Would this personal be able to live a normal, good life? If big law isn't required, could they get employed in a job where they work under 60 hours a week? Or is it true that law is bimodal regarding salaries, but that the hours are constant in shitlaw and big law?

Sorry for the rambling, and I apologize if this question has been answered to death.

Thanks!

FSK

Platinum

Re: Is a normal lifestyle possible in law?

Post by FSK » Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:57 pm

What is "normal" and "good" to you? What kind of career, and success in your career, do you need for happiness?
Last edited by FSK on Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dr. Review

Gold

Post by Dr. Review » Tue Nov 25, 2014 2:58 pm