Finding legal jobs before law school Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
gatesome

Bronze

Finding legal jobs before law school

Post by gatesome » Wed Sep 24, 2014 9:38 pm

Last year I graduated from a competitive university with good grades. I am currently searching for a job. I have several summers of legal internship experience, and I have been applying for many entry-level jobs with titles such as Legal Assistant, Paralegal, Legal Secretary, and Legal Support Analyst. I only apply for jobs that I strongly feel I am well qualified for and I spend multiple hours on each application, tailoring cover letters and researching the company/firm/organization. Sadly I haven't had much luck recently.

Does anyone have any suggestions for finding a legal job pre-law school?

I am especially interested in Public Interest and Government jobs, but I am also applying to several law firms. An example of an ideal job would be working with public defenders in NYC, or for a litigation (criminal or otherwise) law firm in Virginia. I'm looking for advice from people who have worked in the field before law school, or who have recently searched for a job.

middlebear

Silver

Re: Finding legal jobs before law school

Post by middlebear » Wed Sep 24, 2014 10:01 pm

gatesome wrote:Last year I graduated from a competitive university with good grades. I am currently searching for a job. I have several summers of legal internship experience, and I have been applying for many entry-level jobs with titles such as Legal Assistant, Paralegal, Legal Secretary, and Legal Support Analyst. I only apply for jobs that I strongly feel I am well qualified for and I spend multiple hours on each application, tailoring cover letters and researching the company/firm/organization. Sadly I haven't had much luck recently.