Undergrad law classes vs. actual law classes? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
kyledavidsmith

New

Undergrad law classes vs. actual law classes?

Post by kyledavidsmith » Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:27 pm

Hey folks,

for anyone who took any political science classes in constitutional law or similar topics as an undergraduate, I'm wondering how similar these classes are to the law classes you encounter in law school. Can they be used as a good basis for deciding whether or not you'll like law school?

I've now taken two semesters of constitutional law as an undergraduate, and I really enjoy the type of thinking, reading, and writing that it involves. They have probably been my favorite classes within my major (which, I know, probably makes me a massive nerd).

One of my sections was actually taught by a guy who is a graduate of Yale Law School, and he taught it similarly to how I've heard law school is taught. He would assign us a large amount of case reading before every class, expect us to memorize the facts of every case we read, and randomly call on one or two kids to basically answer every question he had for that entire class period. It was terrifying not knowing when your day would be and a lot of other kids in the class struggled being put on the spot like that, but I think it kept me accountable for my work and reinforced my knowledge of the material. Is this a good indicator that I'll like law school?

DoveBodyWash

Gold

Re: Undergrad law classes vs. actual law classes?

Post by DoveBodyWash » Wed Apr 02, 2014 8:58 pm

Here's the problem, what law school classes are "like" goes beyond than how the class is taught.